Happy Spring!! April 2008


Page 1


Letter from the President:


Greetings to all members and friends of the Arkansas Association of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors (AAADAC) from the officers and board members!

This is an exciting and eventful time for substance abuse counselors who work in Arkansas.  Many issues, legislative, regulatory, and funding will be discussed and plans laid which may have ramifications for both mental health and substance abuse programs statewide.  Be assured that AAADAC will be involved representing issues of credentialing, pay scales, and overall environments in which substance abuse services are delivered.
We urge you at this time to renew your memberships and invite others to join.  Our members will increase the efficacy of our efforts in representing the needs of the field of substance abuse counseling and treatment in Arkansas.

Mike Clark

AAADAC President

From the Arkansas Substance Abuse Certification Board:

The certification process has changed in that the oral exam is no longer required.  The written exam is now more comprehensive that it was before.  The Written Case Study is still required as the applicant still needs that knowledge. 

The ASACB will offer a new credential, the Certified Co-occurring Disorders Professional (CCDP) at 3 levels; Diplomate, Bachelor and Associate. The information will be on our web site by April 1. ( We will have a 90-day period of grand-parenting for the credential, meaning no test during that time. We will have "go-to" counselors at many sites to answer questions about the CCDP process and to email them to the office. At this point, we have the following “go-to” people. Their contact is on the web site under Board of Directors.

Randy Jo Nielsen - DCC

Myra Edwards - ADC

Diane Bynum - Horizon 

Mike Gulley - Harbor House 

William "Bo" Bohannon  and Rod Smith- Health Resources of Arkansas programs

Billy Bell - Youthbridge

George Weaver - Mid ARK Services

Bobby Ward - UAMS

Frank McIlroy - Quapaw House

Susan Reid - South Arkansas Behavioral Health Services

Thank You,

Mariella Barlow



The objective of this association shall be to provide alcohol and/or other drug abuse counselors, as well as other interested professionals, with a central organization for distribution of information related to substance abuse; as well as provide for education opportunities in related areas, to serve as a clearing house for the voice of the general membership and insure the availability of qualified counseling professionals.


P.O. Box 45386

Little Rock, AR 72214


Area Representatives:


Region I:

Darlene Prine

Region II: Vince Bryant

Region III: Kim Brown

Region IV: Jim Edmunds

Region V: Richard Saucier

Region VI: Lea Rohr

Region VII: Mitch Francis

Region VIII: Chris Lieux

Member-At-Large: Saima Chauhan


2007 Officers:


President: Mike Clark


Vice-President: Dee Cantrell


Treasurer: Brian Kremer


Secretary: Jena Graham